Some Settings You Need To Check-In To Enjoy Facebook The More

facebook-settings-to-check
Before you go ahead and delete yah facebook account consider this. Facebook offers users a wide variety of privacy options to mess with, which can help you find a little control over your information. We’re not saying this solves Facebook’s privacy crisis, but it might be a more reasonable option than throwing in the towel entirely.

If you’ve never check into Facebook’s privacy settings before, they’re very easy to find. To access all of the following settings, tap the hamburger icon in the bottom-right corner of the display (or top-right on Android and the mobile site), then head to “Account Settings.”

Privacy Settings
Under “Account Settings,” tap “Privacy.” The layout of your privacy settings changes slightly depending on whether you’re using the app or the mobile site, but the core items stay the same.

Manage Your Profile
You’ll first want to double check who can see what’s in your general Facebook profile. Tap “Manage your profile” and Facebook will take you to yours.
Under items such as “Work,” “Education,” or “Places You’ve Lived,” tap the grey arrow then tap “Sharing with:” to change your privacy settings. Typically, you can choose between:

  • Public: which allows anyone with or without a Facebook account to view your information.
  • Friends: which restricts this information to only your Facebook friends.
  • Friends except…: which allows you to restrict this information from certain friends by tapping the grey pencil icon, then by tapping the (–) next to the appropriate names. You can tap “Save” when finished.
  • Specific friends: which allows you to make this information available to certain friends by tapping the grey pencil icon, then by tapping the (–) next to the appropriate names. You can tap “Save” when finished.
  • Only me: which blocks all other users from seeing the information.

 

See All Facebook Privacy Settings You Need To Check

You can also choose to share this information with one specific network you’re connected to. You can view these options by tapping “See More.”
If you see a group of information with an “Edit” button, you’ll need to tap “Edit” in order to access that information’s privacy settings. From there, the process is the same as above.
Your Activity
Back in the main Privacy Settings menu under the Your activity header, you can set “Who can see your future posts?” to “Friends,” or “Only Me” if you want posts to remain private. You can also hide posts from specific accounts by tapping “Custom,” entering names in the “Hidden from” field, then tapping “Save.”

See All Facebook Privacy Settings You Need To Check


 Facebook gives you the option here to retroactively turn all posts you’ve made into “Friends” only. Just tap “Limit the audience for posts you’ve shared with friends of friends or Public?” then tap “Limit Old Posts.” On certain devices, this option may be back in the main Privacy menu under “Limit who can see past posts.”

While you’re still in main Privacy menu, you can set “Who can see the people, Pages and lists you follow?” to “Friends,” or “Only Me” if you want this information to remain totally private.


HowPeople Find & Contact You 


How do people find and contact you??
Here’s a rundown of the settings you’ll find in this area of the main Privacy menu:

Set “Who can send you friend requests?” to “Friends of friends” if it isn’t already selected.Set “Who can see your friends list?” to “Friends” or “Only Me,” if you want to keep your list private.Set “Who can look you up using the email address you provided?” to “Friends” for maximum security.
Set “Who can look you up using the phone number you provided?” to “Friends” for maximum security.

From this page, you can block Facebook from linking your account to search engines outside of Facebook. Tap “Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile?” then tap “Allow search engines out of Facebook to link to your profile” if it contains a checkmark. Tap “Confirm” to complete the process.

Timeline & Tagging Next,
 head back out to the main “Account Settings” menu from Facebook’s hamburger menu. From there, head to “Timeline and Tagging” to adjust two core functions of Facebook whose settings are definitely worth reviewing, plus an additional third set of options that can be helpful. This menu changes slightly depending on whether you’re using the app or the mobile site, but the core items stay the same.
Timeline
Under the Timeline header on this next menu, there are two pertinent settings:
  • Set “Who can post on your timeline?” to “Friends,” or “Only me,” if you want to keep others from posting on your timeline altogether.
  • Set “Who can see what others post on your timeline?” to “Friends,” or “Only me” if you want to stop everyone from seeing what’s on your timeline.
See All Facebook Privacy Settings You Need To Check
Tagging
 Next, under the Tagging header in this menu, there are again two options to consider:
  •  Set “Who can see posts you’re tagged in on your timeline?” to “Friends,” or “Only Me,” if you want to block all users from seeing these posts.
  • Set “When you’re tagged in a post, who do you want to add to the audience of the post if they can’t already see it?” to “Friends,” or “Only me” if you want no one to see these posts.
 Review
 Finally, there’s the Review header. This gives you a chance to look over tags other people have made that could pertain to your personal info.
 Enable “Review tags people add to your posts before the tags appear on Facebook?” under “Tag Review.” Enable “Review posts you’re tagged in before the post appears on your timeline?” under “Timeline Review.”
Blocking
If you know of any user accounts you want to keep from accessing your page altogether, you can easily add them to your blocking list. Tap “Blocking” under Account Settings, then tap “Add to blocked list” to search for users to add.
See All Facebook Privacy Settings You Need To Check
 Public Posts
“Public Posts” under Account Settings gives you control over who can interact with your Facebook posts and activity. You can limit who gets to follow your account, as well as who can like or comment on your profile information.
See All Facebook Privacy Settings You Need To Check
 Set Who Can Follow Me, to “Friends.” Set Public Post Comments to “Friends.” Set Public Profile Info to “Friends.” Face Recognition Facebook claims it uses face recognition to find you in photos and videos you might not know are on Facebook. While that sounds like a security feature, those with privacy in mind probably don’t want to give Facebook permission to scan their face. Tap “Face Recognition” under Account Settings, then tap “Do you want Facebook to be able to recognize you in photos and videos?” Then, make sure “No” is selected.”
I think with this few tips and settings, you will start enjoying your Facebook account and you won’t even think of deleting it anymore.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here